Norsemen

When I found Norsemen on Netflix I thought it was a show similar to Vikings which I’ve grown a little weary of since the third season so I didn’t feel inspired to watch it. However I was reading an article and it mentioned that Norsemen was a comedy so I thought I would give it a try as it appeared to be a different beast. Made in Norway but voiced in English this is an excellent dry comedy from Jon Iver Helgaker and Jonas Torgersen.

Centring on the lives of people in an 8th Century Norwegian village called Norheim, this show blends satirical comedy with the epic soundtracks and costumes of more serious TV. The characters are well presented with Orm’s unsuccessful attempts at being Chieftain material coming across as hilarious rather than cringe inducing. Arvid is somewhat lovable as the bloodthirsty warrior struggling to become accustomed to a life outside pillaging.

Of course this wouldn’t be a show about Vikings without violence but this is handled deftly, it doesn’t glorify the atrocities but treats them as part of life for our characters who still find humour despite them. There is plenty of blood and a fair amount of poop but then it wouldn’t be the Middle Ages without them.

This show is the perfect tonic for people like myself who have grown tired of the dour nature of period dramas like The Last Kingdom and Vikings. Watch this if you want the period without the drama.

Leave a comment